Log in Subscribe

Notice of the Relieving of Episcopal Duties of Bishop Staccato Powell


Pursuant to the 2016 AME Zion Book of Discipline, Paragraph, ¶128 which provides that the Board of Bishops “may give such advice or directions and shall have the power to make such adjustments for the good of the denomination as they may, in their majority judgment, consider wise and imperative;” the Board of Bishops has relieved Bishop Staccato Powell of primary oversight of the Western Episcopal District.

Effective immediately, the Right Reverend George D. Crenshaw is assigned as the Presiding Bishop of the Western Episcopal District and will assume all episcopal, both ecclesial and fiscal, oversight until the current investigations of the operations of the Western Episcopal District are concluded.

Done this 7th Day of August, 2020:

The Board of Bishops of the AME Zion Church

Bishop George D. Crenshaw, President of the Board of Bishops

Bishop George E. Battle, Jr., Senior Bishop

Bishop Kenneth Monroe Bishop Darryl Starnes Bishop Dennis V. Proctor Bishop Mildred Bonnie Hines

Bishop W. Darin Moore Bishop Seth O. Lartey Bishop Michael Angelo Frencher Sr.

Bishop Staccato Powell

Bishop Hilliard Dogbe Bishop U.U. Effiong Bishop George W.C. Walker, Sr.

Bishop S. Chuka Ekeman, Sr.

Bishop Joseph Johnson Bishop Marshall H. Strickland

Bishop Nathaniel Jarrett Bishop Warren M. Brown Bishop Louis Hunter


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here